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Real and Personal Property Tax Incentives
Local governments certified as an Enterprise Zone can grant real and/or personal property tax exemptions of up to 75 percent (municipalities) and 60 percent (unincorporated areas) of the value of the eligible new investment of a project.  The term of these incentives can be for up to ten years.  The local governments determine the appropriate incentive level and term (if any) based on a project-by-project evaluation of the associated costs and benefits.  

The Ohio Enterprise Zone law allows considerable local flexibility in structuring the incentive package.  The local government can exceed the stated incentive cap if the average incentive percentage does not exceed 60 percent for municipalities or 50 percent for unincorporated areas for the term of the agreement.  This would allow the local government to be sensitive to a new facility's lack of cash flow during the initial operation period.

In addition, the local government can exceed the stated incentive cap regardless of the term average if the affected school board approves the proposal.   The local government must formally request that the school board review and consider such a proposal.  Additional formal notice and response requirements apply to such a request.  Note that this alternative is expected to be employed in only very special situations.

The Ohio Enterprise Zone law allows a local government to expand the potential incentive to include existing taxable assets in three particular situations.


1.
If a business plans to purchase and operate a large manufacturing operation that 


has employed an average of 1,000 employees per year during the past five years 


which has closed or has announced closure proceedings, the local government may 


grant an exemption of up to 100 percent of the existing real and personal property 


for up to 10 years.


2.
If a business agrees to remediate an environmentally contaminated facility 



expending at least 250 percent of the existing value of the facility on a new 





investment project including at least a 10 percent investment on remediation 



activities, then the local government can exempt up to 50 percent of the existing 


real property and 100 percent of the new real and personal property investment 


described as the project.

Note that businesses entering into an Enterprise Zone Agreement for real and/or personal property tax incentives must file the DTE 24 form with the County Auditor to affect the real property benefit and the 913 EX state tax form with the businesses' regular annual state tax filing to affect the personal property benefit.

State Franchise Tax Incentives
A business is eligible for state franchise tax benefits under the Tier II program if it is in compliance with an existing local Enterprise Zone Agreement, created new jobs, did not close or reduce employment at any other Ohio location as a result of this project and at least 25 percent of the new jobs were filled with individuals who meet one of the following disadvantaged categories:


1.
Unemployed (for at least 10 weeks preceding new employment) and a resident of 


the county where the project site is located for at least six months;


2.
JTPA eligible and a resident of the county where the project site is located 



for at least six months;


3.
Recipient of Aid to Dependent Children (ADC), General Relief (GA), disability 


insurance, unemployment compensation and residents of the county where the 


project site is located for at least six months;


4.
Handicapped person who resided in the county where the project site is located 


for at least six months; or


5.
Resident of an Enterprise Zone in the county where the project is located for at 


least one year.

The business must file the appropriate Tier II State Franchise Tax application with Ohio Development Services Agency between January 1 and April 30.  Approved applicants will receive a Tax Incentive Qualification Certification issued on June 30 of the application year.  The certification is valid for the tax year in which the June 30 issuance date appears in the business's tax filing.  A business can receive a total of four certifications -- an initial and three renewals.  The applications must be submitted in consecutive years.  Each requires a separate application.  Renewal Certifications must further document that at least 10 percent of the supervisory personnel of the facility met one of the five hiring categories at the time the person was hired.

The benefits under this provision include:

1.Exemption of all real and personal property assets provided by the local Enterprise Zone Agreement from the asset or income based tax calculation;

2.Reduction of the payroll numerator of the wage paid to individuals hired who met one of five disadvantaged categories;

3.A credit of up to $300 or actual reimbursement by the business for daycare services provided for new employees who met one of the five disadvantaged categories; and

4.A credit of up to $1,000 or actual costs by the business for training employees who met one of the five disadvantaged categories and who subsequently work at least 90 days at the facility.  One credit is allowed per individual.

ADDITIONAL INCENTIVES

Employee Tax Credit Certification
A business with an existing Enterprise Zone Agreement issued by an Enterprise Zone located in an MSA Principal City or Appalachian County can apply for an Employee Tax Credit Certificate or Extension of Benefits consideration for each eligible new employee who is a recipient of ADC or GA and who resided for at least one year in the county where the facility is located.

This certificate entitles the business to a $1,000 non-refundable state franchise tax credit

(pro-rated if the individual did not work the entire year) for each taxable year of the agreement. 
Note that if an employee is part of a Job Creation Tax Credit program agreement, they do not qualify for the Employee Tax Credit Certification.

Extension of Benefits Certification
This certificate entitles the business to receive payments for a portion of the costs of comprehensive medical insurance provided by the employer up to the amount of the state and local share of the average per person cost of such healthcare services for up to 21 months for each eligible new employee (ADC or GA).  If the business does not provide health care coverage,  the Ohio Department of Human Services  (ODHS) shall maintain coverage to the extent of the law.  In either case, the business must apply to ODSA to receive the certification.  ODSA shall notify ODHS of the certification.  The business must participate with ODHS in the Subsidized Employment Program (SEP) in order to qualify for the extension of benefits.

Businesses interested in these benefits must contact ODSA and complete the appropriate application.  A certification will be issued upon verification of the eligibility requirements. 
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