Ohio Office of Budget and Management
Travel Policy (Effective May 1, 2009)

This is a summary of amended Rule 126-1-2 of the Ohio Administrative Code. Refer to
the rule for complete information and requirements.

Prohibitions

No reimbursement for entertainment, alcoholic beverages, travel insurance, or traffic
fines and parking tickets.

No reimbursement for lodging or meals (except conference meals) within 45 miles of
both your residence and headquarters.

In-State & Out-of-State Travel

There is no distinction between in-state and out-of-state travel. The OBM travel rule
refers to either continental U.S. travel or out-of-country travel. Continental U.S. travel is
travel within the United States and Canada. Out-of-country is travel outside of the United
States and Canada.

Transportation Expenses

Travel by common carrier (bus, railroad, airline, etc.) may be reimbursed at the
lowest available rate. Business class air travel is allowed for some specified
international travel. Air travel within Ohio is authorized only for agency directors,
assistant directors, and deputy directors; other state employees may fly within Ohio
only if flying is more economical than any other type of travel.

Travel by privately owned automobiles may be reimbursed for mileage incurred at
the rate of 45 cents/mile.

Receipts are required for miscellaneous transportation expenses, such as parking,
taxis, car rental, etc., that exceed $10/day. All receipts are required if transportation
expenses accumulate to $25 or more in one day.

There is no reimbursement for mileage commuting from your residence to your
headquarters nor from your headquarters to your residence.

Lodging

Overnight lodging must be more than 45 miles from both your residence and
headquarters.

Receipts are required for all lodging expenses.

If you are away for more than one week (including a weekend), you may be
reimbursed for reasonable miscellaneous expenses such as laundry, dry cleaning,
personal telephone calls, postage. You must submit a receipt for any expense that
exceeds $1.

The reimbursement rate for lodging in commercial establishments within the
Continental U.S. is $80/night plus applicable taxes or the lowest government rate in
the area with approval from the state agency head or his/her designee.



Meals

There is a statewide per diem rate for meal reimbursement that includes gratuities.
OBM may update the per diem annually to adjust to the revisions to the Federal per
diem schedule. Reimbursement for meals is authorized only when overnight lodging is
required.

Meal reimbursement for a full calendar day does not require an allocation for breakfast,
lunch, and dinner. You may determine how to allocate the allowed amount for meals.
Meal receipts are not required.

Standard meal reimbursement rates (including tips) are set forth below:
e Breakfast $6
e Lunch $9
e Dinner $12
e Incidentals $4
Total $31

The $31 reimbursement is pro-rated as follows:
e Up to $10 if traveling anytime after midnight but no later than 10 AM.
e Upto $13 if traveling anytime after 10 AM but no later than 4 PM.
e Up to $16 if traveling anytime after 4 PM but no later than
Midnight.

Note: With the adoption of the per diem, travelers will only be reimbursed at the
per diem rate. If a traveler spends more than the per diem and has receipts to
document the expense, he/she will only be reimbursed at the per diem rate.



